Inaugural Australian Syngas Association Conference : Official Programme

8.15am Registration opens
9.00am – 9.30am Peter Bond, ASA President delivers Welcome Address
9.30am – 10.00am Ian Macfarlane MP, Shadow Minister for Energy and Resources, Australian Government delivers Opening Address
10.00am – 10.30am Andrew Haythorpe, Chairman and Managing Director, Liberty Resources
10.30am – 10.50am MORNING TEA
10.50am – 11.20am Martin Considine, Vice President BTU Conversion, Peabody Energy
11.20am – 11.50am Michael Roche, Chief Executive , Queensland Resources Council
11.50am – 12.20pm Dr Chris Cuff, Member of the Independent Scientific Panel, UCG Industry
12.20pm – 12.50pm Andrew Dash, Managing Director, Carbon Energy
12.50pm – 1.40pm LUNCH
1.40pm – 2.10pm Barry Goldstein, Executive Director Energy Resources, South Australian Government
2.10pm – 2.40pm Raj Kumar Roy, Executive Director Business Development, Lanco Group India
2.40pm – 3.10pm Chris Schrape, Managing Director, Altona Energy Plc.
3.10pm – 3.40pm Cr Ray Brown, Mayor Western Downs Regional Council
3.40pm – 4.00pm AFTERNOON TEA
4.00pm – 4.30pm Greg Perkins, Chief Technical Officer, Linc Energy Ltd
4.30pm – 5.00pm Martin Considine, Representing Gasification Technology Council, USA
5.00pm – 5.30pm President’s closing remarks and questions from the floor
5.30pm Formal programme concludes
6.00pm onwards Cocktail / Networking Reception: Chief guest, Queensland Energy Minister Hon Mark McArdle



PETER BOND – ASA President / CEO & MD Linc Energy: Peter was appointed to the Linc Energy Board in October 2004 and has been pivotal to its success since it listed on the Australian Securities Exchange in May 2006. He has personally seen the company evolve from a small-cap business into an ASX 200 company, and seen the company grow in talent from a small team to over 130 employees across Australia and the United States read more

CR RAY BROWN – MAYOR WESTERN DOWNS REGIONAL COUNCIL: Ray and his wife live on their family grain and cattle property in the Moonie District. He has great ties with the rural sector and also having connections to the mining sector through the development of the Moonie Oilfields on one of his properties read more

MARTIN D. CONSIDINE – Vice President – Btu Conversion / PEABODY: Martin Considine, Vice President of Btu Conversion group within the Government Relations Department for Peabody Energy, joined Peabody in August of 2005. Martin is responsible for increasing the utilization of Peabody’s coal reserves in Btu Conversion projects read more

DR CHRIS CUFF – Member of the Independent Scientific Panel UGC Industry, Queensland: Dr Chris Cuff is internationally recognised for his expertise in clay-water reactions with a wealth of knowledge relating to the geochemistry of rock-water systems. He is currently on the Independent Scientific Expert Panel advising the Queensland Cabinet (through the Department of Employment, Economic Development and Innovation [DEEDI] and the Department of Environment and Resource Management [DERM]) on a range of water quality issues resulting from CSG and potential UCG development read more

ANDREW DASH – Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director for Carbon Energy: Andrew is the CEO and Managing Director of Carbon Energy a leading innovator in underground coal gasification. Andrew and his company have managed to turn concept into reality in a little over three years. Taking their innovation from desktop research, through field trials and achieving proof of concept Carbon Energy lead the industry in proven quality results read more

BARRY GOLDSTEIN – Executive Director, Energy Resources / State Government of South Australia:He is South Australia’s Executive Director for Energy Resources leading a team of geoscientists, engineers, licensing and royalty specialists, and support staff.In this role, he is both hunter and games-keeper e.g. both attracts and regulates investment.He is also the current Chair of Australia’s Coal Seam Gas Steering Group and serves on other CoAG committees read more

ANDREW HAYTHORPE – Managing Director & Chairman: Mr Haythorpe is a Geologist by profession and has been associated with the Mining and Exploration sector for over 20 years. He gained experience in evaluating the technical and financial aspects of mining projects while working as a mining analyst for Suncorp, County Natwest and Hartley Poynton, and then as a Fund Manager with Bankers Trust. Previously Mr Haythorpe has served as Managing Director of Michelago Resources and Crescent Gold and as non-executive Chairmon of Aurox Resources. He is currently the Managing Director of Liberty Resources Ltd.

THE HON MARK MCARDLE MP– Minister for Energy and Water Supply:Mark McArdle was elected to the Parliament as the Member for Caloundra on 16 February 2004. Prior to entering Parliament Mr McArdle worked as a solicitor on the Sunshine Coast in QLD. He has held a number of shadow portfolios including Justice, Health, Attorney General and Emergency Services read more

IAN MACFARLANE MP – Shadow Minister for Energy & Resources / Federal Member for Groom: Ian Macfarlane was first elected to federal Parliament in 1998. Being promoted to the Cabinet role of Industry, Tourism and Resources (2001-2007). Ian is now the Shadow Minister for Energy and Resources and brings his extensive experience and pragmatic approach to policy work in two of Australia’s most important industries read more

DR GREG PERKINS – Chief Technology Officer, Downstream and UCG Technology/ Linc Energy:Dr Greg Perkins is a Process Engineer with over 15 years of experience in the energy, oil, and gas industries. He has extensive international experience having held previous positions in Australia, Switzerland, The Netherlands, Malaysia and the United States. He spent six years working for Shell International in Europe and Asia in a variety of oil and gas focused roles, all with increasing responsibility read more

MICHAEL ROCHE – Chief Executive / Queensland Resources Council: Michael Roche is the Chief Executive of the Queensland Resources Council (QRC), the peak industry body for the minerals and energy sector in Queensland, representing the interests of more than 280 member companies. Michael also has extensive experience in the government sector, including nine years in Canberra. In 2009 he was appointed a Queensland Resource Industry Ambassador read more

RAJ KUMAR ROY – Director / Lanco Anpara Power Ltd:Raj Kumar Roy is an energy sector professional with almost two decades of experience in securing energy resources for India be it coal, natural gas, oil or their derivatives. By education, Roy is a Mechanical Engineer with Post Graduate Diploma in Management (Finance) which has enabled him to work across the entire spectrum of energy business ranging from core technical to core commercial and financial aspects of business read more

CHRIS SCHRAPE-Managing Director/ ALTONA ENERGY:Mr Schrape is a graduate of the University of Melbourne – B.A (Economics). He has more than 30 years’ experience in the resource and mining industries, notably as Marketing Manager with Indonesia’s largest coal operation (PT Kaltim Prima Coal) for 6 years from project start-up in 1991. Before joining Altona Energy, Mr Schrape was engaged as a Marketing Adviser for several prospective coal and power projects in Asia read more